A Year Ago in Oulu…

Oulu, Finland

Pretty much a year ago, I decided to travel up north for Christmas by bus. Easy peasy. Just 8 hours of sitting. Hey. No judging. It was cheap and there was a free wi-fi in the bus.

Anyhoo. Since the bus didn’t go all the way to Lapland back then (now it does, check it out at onnibus.com), I called my cousin, who lives in Oulu, that would she be willing to host me for a night and then possibly share a ride to our Christmas destination. Of course she said yes, and I ended up having lots of fun with her.

Beware, all my images are blurry.

Oulu, Finland

The old wooden harbour magazines look lovely in the winter. I kept ooh’ing and aah’ing and acting like a total tourist. It looked so Christmassy! I mean look:

Oulu9 Oulu8 Oulu, Finland

In this building was this incredibly cute home decor shop (which name I forgot) and they had the cutest and chicest stuff:

Oulu, Finland

Oulu, Finland

I’m pretty sure I touched every single item in there. Me and my cousin both wanted the stylish, gold-dipped tailor scissors, and I now bitterly regret not buying them as they weren’t that expensive.

a tea shop, Oulu, Finland

We also visited this tea shop. The combination of these metal canisters against the dark stained wood shelves were very satisfying to look at.

fox pelts, fur trade, Oulu, Finland

I’m not going to comment on this. I’ll just leave the image here. Fur trade is big in Finland.

kauppahalli, Oulu, Finland, Oulun kauppahalli

There’s actually an indoor market hall in Oulu. We didn’t buy anything but did some culinary window shopping.

Oulun kauppahalli, Oulu, Finland

Oulu has tons of old buildings. Although for a quite a few years there were a series of mysterious fires after an old building got a protected status. Corruption a la mob Finland. But like I said, I kept ooh’ing and aah’ing and taking tons of pictures. Sometimes I wonder if Rovaniemi, would have looked as pretty, if the Germans hadn’t burned it in 1945.

Oulu16 Oulu15 Oulu14 Oulu, Finland, architecture

Yup. Oulu is a nice city to visit. Here’s another picture from this year by my cousin. It gets very blue after the sun sets up there…

Oulu, Finland, sininen hetki, blue moment, Arctic

-Thrifty Finn-

Feel free to share you thoughts!

