A Mini Halloween Shadow Box

A Mini Halloween Shadow Box | Thrifty Finn

A Mini Halloween Shadow Box | Thrifty Finn

I’ve had this gift box in my stash for years already. Every year I planned to do something Halloween’ish with it but I never could come up with the right idea. Until this year, when I realized this would be a perfect miniature shadow box.

A Mini Halloween Shadow Box | Thrifty Finn

A Mini Halloween Shadow Box | Thrifty Finn

I covered the lid with some orange papers. At first I thought about covering the base too but then I realized, I wouldn’t be able to close the lid. I just inked the base to add some blackness to it. I did the same for the corners of the lid too.

A Mini Halloween Shadow Box | Thrifty Finn

This is the inside of the lid. Simple and sophisticated black and white look. Then the shadow box part looks like this:

A Mini Halloween Shadow Box | Thrifty Finn

Excuse me the blurriness but I didn’t notice it, when I took the picture. The background paper is an old one from my stash, which I then fussy cut to add the second moon and the clouds. The owl trees are from another paper, again fussy cut and structured to stand in the middle of the ‘floor’. The text paper was even tinier scrap from my stash.

A Mini Halloween Shadow Box | Thrifty Finn

And here they are! Now I’m really hoping to find some old watch boxes at fleamarkets so I could make more of these. How’s your Halloween crafting going?

-Thrifty Finn-

 

Feel free to share you thoughts!

